Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(ANN-97-01) (ANN-97-01) Announcement of February 13 Student Financial Assistance Videoconference

DCLPublicationDate: 1/1/97
DCLID: ANN-97-1
AwardYear:
Summary: Announcement of February 13 Student Financial Assistance Videoconference

Dear Colleague:



I am pleased to announce a videoconference to be presented on
February 13, l997 from 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Eastern time. The
topic of the videoconference is "Policy Update: Recent Title IV
Regulatory Changes."

This videoconference, presented free of charge to all postsecondary
institutions by the U.S. Department of Education, will present a
panel of ED policy staff to provide information on new regulations
published this November. The videoconference will present a policy
overview of the four regulatory packages affecting schools: Cash
Management; Record Retention; Campus-Based Programs; and
Financial Responsibility.

The videoconference will be interactive, offering participants the
opportunity to use a toll-free number or FAX to ask the panel
questions. Schools are permitted to record this videoconference for
their own use.

The February 13 videoconference can be seen at the following times:

Eastern - 12:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Central - 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Mountain - 10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Pacific - 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

The videoconference will be broadcast on the following satellites:

- SATELLITE: KU BAND - SBS6 (74 DEGREES WEST),
TRANSPONDER 14, VERTICAL DOWNLINK FREQUENCY
12043.5 MHZ

- C-BAND - GALAXY 3 (95 DEGREES WEST), TRANSPONDER
21, HORIZONTAL DOWNLINK FREQUENCY 4120 MHZ


Enclosed is a form to register for the videoconference. If you wish
to register as a host (receiving) site, please include the specific
address of the building in which the videoconference will be
received. We will provide schools with a list of host sites by way of
the SFA Bulletin Board and the Postsecondary Education Network
(PEN). If you are unable to access the remote site information
electronically, please call the Federal Student Aid Information Center
at 1-800-4-FEDAID for information about the host site nearest to
you. Individuals wishing to travel to a host site should contact that
site's coordinator to indicate that they will attend.

If you are unable to view the videoconference live, you may borrow
a copy of it on videotape. Call 1-800-4-FEDAID (toll-free) one
week following the videoconference to borrow a tape.

We look forward to communicating with you on this important topic
through this interactive technology.

Sincerely,



Elizabeth M. Hicks
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Student Financial Assistance


Attachment

Last Modified: 12/31/1996