Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

Subject: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI)

Publication Date: January 3, 2017

Posted Date: January 3, 2017

Subject: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI)

FR Type: Notice

[Federal Register Volume 82, Number 1 (Tuesday, January 3, 2017)]
[Pages 106-107]
From the Federal Register Online via the Government Publishing Office []
[FR Doc No: 2016-31400]



National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 

AGENCY: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 
Integrity, U.S. Department of Education.

ACTION: Notice of membership.


SUMMARY: This notice lists the members of the National Advisory 
Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI). This notice 
is required under Section 114(e)(1) of the Higher Education Act of 
1965, as amended (HEA).


NACIQI's Statutory Authority and Functions

    NACIQI is established under Section 114 of the HEA, and is composed 
of 18 members appointed--
    (A) On the basis of the individuals' experience, integrity, 
impartiality, and good judgment;
    (B) From among individuals who are representatives of, or 
knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond secondary 
education, representing all sectors and types of institutions of higher 
education; and,
    (C) On the basis of the individuals' technical qualifications, 
professional standing, and demonstrated knowledge in the fields of 
accreditation and administration of higher education.
    NACIQI meets at least twice a year and advises the Secretary of 
Education with respect to:
     The establishment and enforcement of the standards of 
accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of part G of Title 
IV of the HEA;

[[Page 107]]

     The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or 
     The preparation and publication of the list of nationally 
recognized accrediting agencies and associations;
     The eligibility and certification process for institutions 
of higher education under Title IV of the HEA and part C of subchapter 
I of chapter 34 of Title 42, together with recommendations for 
improvements in such process;
     The relationship between (1) accreditation of institutions 
of higher education and the certification and eligibility of such 
institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with respect to 
such institutions; and
     Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and 
institutional eligibility that the Secretary of Education may prescribe 
by regulation.

ADDRESSES: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary 
Education, 400 Maryland Ave. SW., Room 6W250, Washington, DC 20202.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Jennifer Hong, Executive Director/
Designated Federal Official, NACIQI, U.S. Department of Education, 400 
Maryland Ave. SW., Room 6W250, Washington, DC 20202, telephone: (202) 
453-7805, or email

What are the terms of office for the committee members?

    The term of office of each member is six years. Any member 
appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the 
term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall be 
appointed for the remainder of such term.

Who are the current members of the committee?

    The current members of the NACIQI are:

Members Appointed by the Secretary of Education With Terms Expiring 
September 30, 2019

     Simon J. Boehme (Student Member), Independent Consultant, 
San Francisco, California.
     Roberta L. Derlin, Ph.D., Associate Provost Emeritus, New 
Mexico State University, Albuquerque, New Mexico.
     John Etchemendy, Ph.D., Provost, Stanford University, 
Stanford, California.
     Susan D. Phillips, Ph.D., Former Provost and Vice 
President for Academic Affairs and Former Vice President for Strategic 
Partnerships, University at Albany/SUNY, Albany, New York.
     Frank H. Wu, J.D., Distinguished Professor, University of 
California Hastings College of Law, San Francisco, California.
     Federico Zaragoza, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Economic and 
Workforce Development, Alamo Colleges, San Antonio, Texas.

Members Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives With 
Terms Expiring September 30, 2020

     Kathleen Sullivan Alioto, Ed.D., Strategic Advisor, 
Fundraiser, and Consultant, New York, New York, San Francisco, 
California, and Boston, Massachusetts.
     George T. French, Jr., Ph.D., President, Miles College, 
Fairfield, Alabama.
     Arthur E. Keiser, Ph.D., Chancellor and C.E.O., Keiser 
University, Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
     Arthur J. Rothkopf, J.D., President Emeritus, Lafayette 
College, Washington, DC.
     Ralph Wolff, J.D., Independent Policy Consultant, Oakland, 

Members Appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate With Terms 
Expiring September 30, 2022

     Jill Derby, Ph.D., Senior Consultant, Association of 
Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges, Gardnerville, Nevada.
     Paul J. LeBlanc, Ph.D., President, Southern New Hampshire 
University, Manchester, New Hampshire.
     Anne D. Neal, J.D., Senior Fellow, American Council of 
Trustees and Alumni, Washington, DC.
     Richard F. O'Donnell, Founder and CEO, Skills Fund, 
Austin, Texas.
     Steven Van Ausdle, Ph.D., President Emeritus, Walla Walla 
Community College, Walla Walla, Washington.
    Electronic Access to This Document: The official version of this 
document is the document published in the Federal Register. Free 
Internet access to the official edition of the Federal Register and the 
Code of Federal Regulations is available via the Federal Digital System 
at At this site you can view this document, as well 
as all other documents of this Department published in the Federal 
Register, in text or Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). To use PDF, 
you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is available free at the 
    You may also access documents of the Department published in the 
Federal Register by using the article search feature at: Specifically, through the advanced search 
feature at this site, you can limit your search to documents published 
by the Department.

    Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1011c.

John B. King, Jr.,
Secretary of Education.
[FR Doc. 2016-31400 Filed 12-30-16; 8:45 am]

Last Modified: 01/02/2017