Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

Subject: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and
Integrity: Notice of Members

Publication Date: 2010-12-23

Posted Date: December 23, 2010

Subject: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity: Notice of Members

FR Type: Notice

[Federal Register: December 23, 2010 (Volume 75, Number 246)]
[Page 80803-80804]
From the Federal Register Online via GPO Access []


National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 
Integrity: Notice of Members

AGENCY: National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and 
Integrity: Notice of Members, Department of Education.

What is the purpose of this notice?

    The purpose of this notice is to list the members of the National 
Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity (NACIQI). 
This notice is required under Section 114(e)(1) of the Higher Education 
Act of 1965, as amended (HEA).

What is the role of NACIQI?

    The NACIQI is established under Section 114 of the HEA, and is 
composed of 18 members appointed--
    (A) On the basis of the individuals' experience, integrity, 
impartiality, and good judgment;
    (B) From among individuals who are representatives of, or 
knowledgeable concerning, education and training beyond secondary 
education, representing all sectors and types of institutions of higher 
education; and
    (C) On the basis of the individuals' technical qualifications, 
professional standing, and demonstrated knowledge in the fields of 
accreditation and administration of higher education.
    The NACIQI meets at least twice a year and provides recommendations 
to the Secretary of Education pertaining to:
     The establishment and enforcement of the standards of 
accrediting agencies or associations under subpart 2 of part H of Title 
     The recognition of specific accrediting agencies or 
     The preparation and publication of the list of nationally 
recognized accrediting agencies and associations.
     The eligibility and certification process for institutions 
of higher education under Title IV of the HEA.
     The relationship between (1) accreditation of institutions 
of higher education and the certification and eligibility of such 
institutions, and (2) State licensing responsibilities with respect to 
such institutions.
     Any other advisory functions relating to accreditation and 
institutional eligibility that the Secretary may prescribe by 

What are the terms of office for the committee members?

    The term of office of each member is six years, except that the 
terms of office for the initial members of the Committee shall be three 
years for members appointed by the Secretary; four years for members 
appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and six years 
for members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Any 
member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of 
the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed is appointed 
for the remainder of the term.

Who are the current members of the committee?

    The current members of the NACIQI are:
    Members appointed by Secretary of Education Arne Duncan with Terms 
Expiring September 30, 2013:
     Dr. Earl Lewis, Provost and Executive Vice President for 
Academic Affairs, Emory University, Georgia.
     Dr. Susan D. Phillips, Provost and Vice President for 
Academic Affairs, The State University of New York, the University at 
Albany, New York.
     Mr. Beter-Aron Shimeles, student member, Bay Area Fellow 
for Peer Health Exchange, Occidental College, California.
     Ms. Jamienne Studley, President and Chief Executive 
Officer (CEO), Public Advocates, Inc., California.
     Mr. Frank Wu, Chancellor and Dean, University of 
California, Hastings College of the Law, California.
     Dr. Federico Zaragoza, Vice Chancellor of Economic and 
Workforce Development, Alamo Community College District, Texas.
    Members appointed by Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy 
Pelosi, with Terms Expiring September 30, 2014:
     Dr. Benjamin Allen, President, University of Northern 
Iowa, Iowa.
     Dr. Arthur Keiser, Chancellor, Keiser University, Florida.
     Dr. William E. Kirwan, Chancellor, University System of 
Maryland, Maryland.
     Dr. William Pepicello, President, University of Phoenix, 
     Mr. Arthur J. Rothkopf, President Emeritus, Lafayette 
College, District of Columbia.
     Dr. Carolyn Williams, President, Bronx Community College, 
New York.
    Members appointed by President Pro Tempore of the Senate Daniel 
Inouye, with Terms Expiring September 30, 2016:
     Mr. Bruce Cole, President and CEO, American Revolution 
Center, District of Columbia.
     Ms. Anne Neal, President, American Council of Trustees and 
Alumni, District of Columbia.
     Mr. Daniel Klaich, Chancellor, Nevada System of Higher 
Education, Nevada.
     Dr. Wilfred McClay, Suntrust Bank Chair of Excellence in 
Humanities, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, Tennessee.
     The Honorable Cameron C. Staples, State Representative, 
House of Representatives, Connecticut.
     Dr. Larry N. Vanderhoef, Chancellor Emeritus, University 
of California Davis, California.

How can I get additional information?

    If you have any specific questions about the NACIQI, please contact 
Melissa Lewis, Executive Director, NACIQI, telephone (202) 219-7009, 
fax (202) 219-7005, e-mail:, between 9 a.m. and 5 
p.m., Monday through Friday.

Electronic Access To This Document

    You may view this document, as well as all other Department of 
Education documents published in the Federal Register, in text or Adobe 
Portable Document Format (PDF), on the internet at the following site: 
http://www/ed/gov/news/fedregister. To use PDF, you must have Adobe 
Acrobat Reader, which is available free at this site. If you have 
questions about using PDF, call the U.S. Government Printing Office 
(GPO), toll free at 1-888-293-1800; or in the Washington, DC at (202) 

    Note:  The official version of this document is the document 
published in the Federal

[[Page 80804]]

Register. Free internet access to the official edition of the 
Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations is available on 
GPO Access at: http://www/
Eduardo M. Ochoa,
Secretary For Postsecondary Education.
[FR Doc. 2010-32351 Filed 12-22-10; 8:45 am]

Last Modified: 12/22/2010