Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(Disaster Letter-97-12) (Disaster Letter-97-12) Declared disaster areas for recent floods in Minnesota.

DCLPublicationDate: 4/1/97
DCLID: Disaster Letter-97-12
Summary: Declared disaster areas for recent floods in Minnesota.

April 9 1997

SUMMARY: Declared disaster areas for recent floods in

Dear Guaranty Agency Director:

On April 8, President Clinton declared the following 21 counties in
MINNESOTA to be disaster areas because of severe weather and
flooding that began on or about March 21:

MINNESOTA: Benton, Big Stone, Brown, Chippewa, Clay,
Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Marshall, Norman,
Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, Sherburne,
Stearns, Swift, Traverse, Washington, Wilkin,
Wright, and Yellow Medicine.

For borrower-initiated 90-day forbearances under the guidelines first
outlined in the January 14, 1997 "Dear Guaranty Agency Director"
letter, the March 21 date may be used retroactively. Lenders and
guaranty agencies may also grant a borrower-initiated 90-day
forbearance on or after the date of this letter if the lender or
guarantor believes the borrower needs one. We will notify you if
additional areas in Minnesota or other states are designated by the
President or the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
Lenders and guaranty agencies may contact the Department's
toll-free number at 1-800-433-7327, Monday through Friday from
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST for further updates. This letter has also
been sent to each regional office of the Department, plus the National
Council of Higher Education Loan Programs, Inc., the Consumer
Bankers Association, and the National Association of Student
Financial Aid Administrators.


Pamela A. Moran
Chief, Loans Branch
Policy Development Division
Student Financial Assistance Programs

Last Modified: 03/31/1997