Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(Disaster Letter-97-10) (Disaster Letter-97-10) Declared disaster areas for recent tornadoes in Tennessee.

DCLPublicationDate: 4/1/97
DCLID: Disaster Letter-97-10
Summary: Declared disaster areas for recent tornadoes in Tennessee.

SUMMARY: Declared disaster areas for recent tornadoes in

Dear Guaranty Agency Director:

President Clinton has declared the following five counties in
Tennessee to be disaster areas because of tornadoes that struck them
on March 28:

TENNESSEE: Bradley, Hamilton, Polk, Sequatchie, and Smith.

The list of designated disaster areas for borrower-initiated
90-day forbearances under the guidelines first outlined in the
January 14, 1997 "Dear Guaranty Agency Director" letter is
complete as of the date of this letter. We will notify you if additional
areas are designated by the President or the Federal Emergency
Management Agency (FEMA). Lenders and guaranty agencies may
contact the Department's toll-free number at 1-800-433-7327,
Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST for further
updates. This letter has also been sent to each regional office of the
Department, plus the National Council of Higher Education Loan
Programs, Inc., the Consumer Bankers Association, and the National
Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.


Pamela A. Moran
Chief, Loans Branch
Policy Development Division
Student Financial Assistance Programs

Last Modified: 03/31/1997