Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(Disaster Letter-97-05) (Disaster Letter-97-05) Declared disaster areas for recent storm damage in Arkansas.

DCLPublicationDate: 3/1/97
DCLID: Disaster Letter-97-5
Summary: Declared disaster areas for recent storm damage in Arkansas.

March 2, 1997

SUMMARY: Declared disaster areas for recent storm damage in

Dear Guaranty Agency Director:

On March 2, President Clinton declared the following nine counties
in Arkansas to be disaster areas because of severe storms, tornadoes,
and flood-related problems that began on March 1:

ARKANSAS: Clark, Cross, Greene, Hempstead, Jackson, Lonoke,
Nevada, Pulaski, and Saline.

The list of designated disaster areas for borrower-initiated 90-day
forbearances under the guidelines first outlined in the
January 14, 1997 "Dear Guaranty Agency Director" letter is
complete as of the date of this letter. We will notify you if additional
areas are designated by the President or the Federal Emergency
Management Agency (FEMA) after the date of this letter. Lenders
and guaranty agencies may contact the Department's toll-free number
at 1-800-433-7327, Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to
5:00 p.m. EST for further updates. This letter has also been sent to
each regional office of the Department, plus the National Council of
Higher Education Loan Programs, Inc., the Consumer Bankers
Association, and the National Association of Student Financial Aid


Pamela A. Moran
Chief, Loans Branch
Policy Development Division
Student Financial Assistance Programs

Last Modified: 02/28/1997