Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(ANN-96-02) Announcement of "Direct Loan Update '96" videoconference

DCLPublicationDate: 5/1/96
DCLID: ANN-96-2
AwardYear:
Summary: Announcement of "Direct Loan Update '96" videoconference

Dear Colleague:

Student Financial Assistance Programs is pleased to announce
a Direct Loan program videoconference to be presented July
17. This videoconference will be broadcast live from
Denver, Colorado, at the conclusion of the NASFAA annual
meeting. The videoconference, presented free of charge to
all postsecondary institutions by the U.S. Department of
Education, will offer current information on Direct Loan
origination and servicing activities, proposed regulations,
in-school consolidation, reconciliation and training
opportunities. The program time for the broadcast is:

Eastern 3:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Central 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.
Mountain 1:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Pacific 12:30 - 2:30 p.m.

The videoconference will be presented by Department of
Education staff in a town meeting format to permit maximum
audience participation. The videoconference will be
interactive, offering participants the opportunity to use a
toll-free number or FAX to question the presenters.
The July 17 videoconference will be broadcast on the
following satellites:

KU Satellite - SBS6 (74 degrees west), Transponder 15,
Horizontal downlink frequency, 12068 mhz, Audio at 6.2 and 6.8

C Band Satellite - Galaxy 6
(74 degrees west), Transponder 2, Vertical downlink frequency,
3740 mhz (on some systems this will be Channel 2),
Audio at 6.2 and 6.8

Enclosed is a form to register for the videoconference. If you
choose to register as a host site, please include the specific
address of the building in which the videoconference will be
received. We will provide schools with a list of remote
(receiving) sites by way of the Postsecondary Education Network
(PEN) and the SFA Bulletin Board. If you are unable to access
the remote site information electronically, please call the
Federal Student Aid Information Center at 1-800-4-FEDAID for
information about the remote site nearest to you. Schools
wishing to travel to a remote site should contact that site's
coordinator to indicate that they will attend.
If you are unable to view the videoconference live, you may
borrow a copy of it on videotape. Call 1-800-4-FEDAID (toll-free)
one week following the videoconference to borrow a tape.

Once again, we look forward to communicating with you this summer
through the interactive technology of videoconferencing.

Sincerely,


Leo Kornfeld
Senior Advisor to the
Secretary

Last Modified: 04/30/1996