Maintained for Historical Purposes

This resource is being maintained for historical purposes only and is not currently applicable.

(GEN-95-39) (GEN-95-39) Announcement of September 14 Student Financial Assistance Videoconference

DCLPublicationDate: 8/1/95
DCLID: GEN-95-39
AwardYear:
Summary: Announcement of September 14 Student Financial Assistance Videoconference


August 1995
GEN-95-39


Summary: Announcement of September 14 Student Financial
Assistance Videoconference

Dear Colleague:

Student Financial Assistance Programs is pleased to announce a
videoconference to be presented September 14 from 1:00 p.m. to
3:00 p.m. Eastern time. The topic of the videoconference is "Direct
Loan Consolidation."

This videoconference, presented free of charge to all postsecondary
institutions by the U.S. Department of Education, will present a
panel of ED staff who will provide information on both regular and
in-school consolidation, and a regulatory update on several proposed
Direct Loan rules.

The videoconference will be interactive, offering participants the
opportunity to use a toll-free number or FAX to question the panel
of presenters. Schools are permitted to record this videoconference
for their own use.

The September 14 videoconference can be seen at the following
times:

Eastern: 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Central: 12:00 noon - 2:00 p.m.
Mountain: 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Pacific: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon

The videoconference will be broadcast on the following satellites:

- KU Band Satellite - SBS 6 (95 degrees west), Transponder 9,
Horizontal Downlink Frequency 11921 Mhz
Audio at 6.2 and 6.8

- C Band Satellite - Galaxy 3 (93.5 degrees west), Transponder
10 , Vertical Downlink Frequency 3900 Mhz., Channel 10 (may
not be accurate on each system)
Audio at 6.2 and 6.8

Enclosed is a form to register for the videoconference. If you wish
to register as a host (receiving) site, please include the specific
address of the building in which the videoconference will be
received. We will provide schools with a list of host sites by way of
the Postsecondary Education Network (PEN) and the SFA Bulletin
Board. If you are unable to access the remote site information
electronically, please call the Federal Student Aid Information
Center at 1-800-4-FEDAID for information about the host site
nearest to you. Individuals wishing to travel to a host site should
contact that site's coordinator to indicate that they will attend.

If you are unable to view the videoconference live, you may borrow
a copy of the videotape. Call 1-800-4-FEDAID (toll-free) one week
following the videoconference to borrow a tape.

We look forward to communicating with you on this important topic
through this interactive technology.

Sincerely,


Leo L. Kornfeld
Senior Advisor to the Secretary


Enclosure


[[ The enclosure "REMOTE (RECEIVING) SITE RESPONSE FORM" is currently unavailable for viewing. Please reference your paper document for additional information.]]

Last Modified: 07/31/1995